IKEA Redesigned

I’ve had a strange day so please forgive my negativity if it bites through.  I’m posting about something I did that made me proud.  I need to find something I did right today.

Soooo, tables….

About a year ago I purchased this table from IKEA:

I purchased it with the intent to paint it.  That was a year ago.  On Sunday I found myself waiting for a bus across the street from a paint supply store.  The bus was running late so I decided to do a little shopping.  I left with three colors, a few paint brushes, sandpaper, primer, and no clue what I was going to do.  I think I envisioned an all green table. I wanted something to “pop.”  I have this habit of buying red things. It’s my favorite color and I gravitate toward it.  This time, I wanted to do something out of the ordinary.

I sanded, primed, and painted the table. I ended up with this:

It felt like I was living in a kindergarten classroom. So then I did this:

It made me think of mint chocolate chip ice cream — which isn’t good for my waist line– so I did this:

It wasn’t finished, but I began to like it a bit more. Here are a few pictures of the final product:

Some of the pictures are blurry because they’re from my cell phone.  I’m thinking about painting the bottom rack/grate thing orange.  I’m not sure yet though.  If anyone has any suggestions I’m totally open to them.  I’m not an artist so I don’t know how to do the complimentary color thing.

One thought on “IKEA Redesigned

  1. Damn lady, you did do this right. I can’t remember the last time I painted anything other than my nails. And they don’t look too hot either.

    Miss you! Come to Oakland!!!!

Have something to say?

