Rich people eat like what?

A few weeks ago a friend of mine discovered Farm dinners.

Yes, that’s a horse in the background.
Courtesy of http://www.experiencepnw.com

The concept epitomizes the localvore movement. “Think global, eat local”  Seattle is allllll about supporting local businesses. Yay! I’m a big fan as well. I fully acknowledge, however, that it’s easy for a place whose streets have been trod by Bill Gates, Joel McHale, August Wilson, Jimi Hendrix, Gail Devers, and Brand Carlile.  “There’s gold is these here hills!”  It’s not so easy for people with less money to access this awesome ideology.  It’s hard for me to write this  because it separates me from a culture that defines me — poverty. My brain is poor, but my wallet is not.  I feel a crazy amount of guilt participating in events like this.

A few of my friends and I are traveling to a Carnation, WA.  We each paid $75 for a Farm dinner experience — Yes. Seventy-five dollars.  I can’t believe I paid $75 to eat 3.5 feet away from my food’s origin.  I’ve lost my mind.  That was the cheapest option.  We chose beer.  Wine was  between $100 and $175. Bananas.

The menu for this evening:

Reception

Chicken liver pate, carmelized onions, pickled mustard greeens
Dunkleweizen

First

Garlic and brown butter lake with stewed chicken legs

Haystack Hefeweizen

Second

Sweet pea arancini with chevre, herb salad, and mushrooms

Copperhead Pale Ale

Third

Grilled chicken breast with quinoa, orange, chile, pineapple sage, and fried egg

Wildcat IPA

Forth

Rhubarb fritters with cinnamon maple syrup

Steam Train Porter

*Side note: they spelled “fourth” wrong, didn’t they?  Also, I’m not a poultry eater so I hope they’re substituting.  UGH, even that last sentence was SO PRETENTIOUS.  “I’m not a meat eater, so I hope they’re substituting?!” BLARGH. (I need to reconcile my current existence with my past history). I’m a work in progress.

That being said, I’m sure it will be fun and tasty. It’s just hard spending so much money on one thing, food.

5 thoughts on “Rich people eat like what?

  1. So was it tasty? I don’t think I can ever pay that much money for my own meal. It’s completely unnecessary, in my opinion. Having courses just mean more calories.

    -A. Tell

  2. Pingback: I’m not meant to be rich « wearingmyblackness

  3. Pingback: Craigie Street Bistrot: pig’s heads, wild plants, bone marrow, beef tongue | Anthro Engineering & Innovation

Have something to say?

