Road Trip Update: 1/12/13

Bleugh. I feel kinda crappy today. I haven’t eaten particularly well since my stove quit on me. Thanks a lot Coleman. I still have the back-up (MSR Dragonfly) but it’s been 30 degrees and CRAZY windy and I just haven’t wanted to sit in the cold and cook. Can you blame me? I’ll be at my friends house in a few days so I’ll get to relax, but for now I feel bloated and lethargic.

I miss my routine. I would go to work and stop by the co-op on my way home. I’d pick up seasonal veggies and fruit and I felt good. I knew that my purchases were pesticide free and contributing to the local economy.

Because of the route I’m taking I’m kinda far away from natural food stores. I tried to maneuver my way through San Francisco to find a health food store and ended up lost in Oakland, CA at like midnight. Not where I wanted to be. As a result, I’ve been trying to steer clear of metropolitan areas.

I also haven’t done as much hiking as I did on the Oregon Coast. Hiking trails were more frequent, and the weather was more mild. In the Southwest it’s sunny, but it’s WINDY and dust blows everywhere. Also, there are burrs that get in my dog’s fur and we can’t get very far. I feel like the trip is an audition for my next home. It seems like the PNW (Pacific Northwest) is where I need to end up.

Tomorrow is my 5th six-hour driving day in a row. I spoke with my grandad on the phone a few days ago, and I’m excited to see him. That might be why I can’t concentrate on the road trip anymore. I miss him and just want to be around him.

Have something to say?

