Obama’s Luther vs. my Truth

I began to a comment on Minorities in the Media’s Key & Peele Challenge the Meaning of Blackness then stopped. My attention span is as long as a lightening bolt is visible. As a result, I can’t stand comments on the internet that are multi-paragraphed brain vomits. So I chose to vomit here, in my own home.

The author discusses how Key and Peele, through their appropriately popular Comedy Central show, comment on Blackness.  I don’t think the comedians would describe their work as strictly commentary on this construct, but I don’t know that they wouldn’t either.

We all have a Luther. My Luther goes by SoulBurner Truth. She’s part warrior princess, part goddess, and a shit ton of angry. She skates derby and likes fire.  Truth is the part of me doesn’t leave racist interactions with the foolish to think and gather herself.  She ‘a cuss dem in Patois then burns their shit. Truth is all exhale while I’m more waiting. When our powers combine, you get the thoughtful and intentional “I’ll hold you accountable with love” version of me.

Truth isn’t allowed to come out and play as often as I desire.  If she did, my happy ass would be in prison and Truth would be writing a blog about her softer side named me.  I like my life so she stays inside (thanks, girl).  Such is the case with many folks who present as darker descendants of the African diaspora.  No doubt all oppressed are similarly multi-faceted. It’s different for Black folk.

After researching my feelings on the internet I found solace in my notion that, Luther isn’t just Truth.  Luther is all of us watching Obama at home, thinking, “What? Why aren’t you saying something!?!” He’s that part of ourselves that exists when we’re in the car talking to ourselves after an altercation where we didn’t get to say all the things we wanted to say.  He’s brazen. He’s normal.  He’s a perfect representation of a great deal of people, present company included.  That’s why Obama is President and we’re not. He knows how to play the game of “politician.” He knows how to respond to situations in a socially acceptable manner.  Luther, however, doesn’t, or at the very least has gotten fed up with doing so. And when he does America heaves a collective sigh of relief and our political aneurysms lose a little bit of their girth.

In short, Luther is less social commentary on the Angry Black man stereotype, more an unintentional reflection of the distance between politicians and the average person, and even moreso, just great comedy.

Have something to say?

