I am a mouthbreather.

Initially, I wrote this entry in mid January.

How I’m feeling right now is proof that we are as much in charge of our health as our doctors. It is my doctor’s job to correctly diagnose my ailments. It is my job to understand my body well enough so I can tell when it’s ailing.

For the first time in over 15 years I am breathing clearly. If you don’t know me in person you may judge the previous statement hyperbolic. It’s not.

When I was older than five and younger than ten I visited a friend’s house. This friend owned what I presume was an orange Tabby cat…kitten. I loved that little sucker. I played with it. I cuddled it. I held it up to my eyes and made eye contact love with it. That is until my under lids broke out in hives, TLC’s waterfalls opened up and my adorable little throat began to close. My mother was called I said “I think I’m allergic to cats” and we went home. This is my earliest recollection of allergy symptoms. Traditional allergy symptoms that is.

In high school I was sent to an Ear Nose and Throat doctor for a skin allergy test. If you’ve never had that done let me explain. A nurse walks into the room with several trays which contain vials. In those vials are allergens. Wouldn’t it be neat if those vials were like vaccines and exposure meant prevention? It doesn’t. Exposure means diagnosis. The patient is pricked on their forearms approximately 46 times. Each prick contains a different allergen. If allergic your body responds with a bit of a hive and some redness…usually. Some responses are much more severe. Of the 46 pricks I had hives and redness on 44. Doctors mentioned allergy shots, medicine, saline sprays, the works. I thought my problem was solved.

For next decade I lived trying different medications and living the life I assumed was intended for me. In the morning I’d blow my nose like a bugle boy for 20 minutes. This matinal horn blowing would persist throughout the day. Throughout my life. I can go through a box of tissues in 3 days… during one of my better weeks. Many of my friends, most of whom don’t know one another have boxes of tissues waiting for me when I come to visit. It’s like our little joke. My nose is always stuffy and runny.

On Tuesday one of my best friends wrote to me about juicing. It’s not abnormal for me to juice. I drink wonderful smoothies frequently. I bought a juicer a few months ago and it’s one of my favorite things. I thought it’d be neat if we did a juice fast together so I hopped on her juice train (that’s not a sexual thing is it?). I began my detox by eliminating most solid foods, drinking peppermint tea (which I do every day anyway), drinking water and taking some of the psyllium husk pills I made. It’s been difficult. My cravings have been pregnancy specific. “I want to eat an entire Panera Bread danish ring.” I haven’t succumb to those cravings though. Well, last night I had 4 dinner mints. For the most part I’ve been great. Mostly organic all plant-based fruits and veggies. As I’m writing this my head hurts a bit -I went without water for most of yesterday — my stomach is grumbling, but I feel bright.

I feel bright.

In Seattle the Sun is like crappy ex partner who comes around when they feel like it. I don’t think this feeling is attributed solely to the sun. In fact, I know it isn’t. I’ve been in Texas for almost 2 weeks and this is the first time I’m feeling this good. I’m obviously allergic to something I’ve been consuming. Disclaimer – I don’t eat like the average citizen of the United States. I eat mostly plant-based, whole grain, organic, local, homemade foods. I rarely eat meat when I do it’s shrimp or salmon whose origin I usually know. My dairy consumption consists of cheese, sour cream, and I don’t drink milk, but I do eat milk based yogurts, occasionally.

My body’s response to the lack of whatever that was, is astounding. If I remove it from my diet altogether I’ll be able to breathe through my nose. Say what? I’LL BE ABLE TO BREATHE THROUGH MY NOSE. Heeeeyyy! In the communities in which I spent the majority of my time holistic naturally based health is never mentioned. Yes, I said never. The thought that I’ve lived this long suffering as I have is saddening. Look at how much power I have over my own body and lifestyle. Eating differently has changed my life. If only more people in my favorite communities had access to this knowledge as well.

UPDATE:I regularly read Staying Healthy with Nutrition . There’s large section devoted to allergies. I read it this morning and thought, “Allergies are a bitch.” Between the random ass triggers of stress, overexposure to chemicals, overintake of refined foods, temperature extremes, and exposure to genetically modified foods no wonder this girl lives her life in tissue boxes and saline rinses.

I’m sad that it’s taken me this long to learn the severe impact allergies can have on your life. This knowledge, however came at the perfect time.

2 thoughts on “I am a mouthbreather.

  1. Pingback: Fasting and babysitting leads to reconciliation | wearingmyblackness

  2. Pingback: Emotional Eating | wearingmyblackness

Have something to say?

