Wearing my apron: Pizza, Peetza, PIZZA!!

Reposted from my old cooking blog, enjoy!

Weariness and a sinus infection kept me from posting earlier. My apologies. In my time away from the incandescent screen that is my Macbook I discovered to recipe for AMAZING pizza dough. Wowzas. I’m beyond happy with this recipe and I got it from my new favorite magazine Mother Earth News.

What you’ll need:

3 1/2 cups lukewarm water
1 tbsp granulated yeast
1 to 1 1/2 tbsp Celtic salt

5 cups unbleached, all-purpose flour
2 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
Fresh mozzarella, cut into 1/2-inch chunks or slices
Handful of basil leaves
Flour, cornmeal or parchment for pizza peel (NOT Bob’s Red Mill)
1/3 cup pine nuts
1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
3-4 cloves of garlic 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

Combine lukewarm water, salt & yeast. Slowly stir in flour with a wooden spoon, bread mixer, or whatever fits your fancy.

Heat oven with pizza stone* in the oven at 500 degrees for at least 30 minutes prior to when you need it.

Use your hands or the spoon to bring all flour together. Don’t worry about making it a perfect round ball. Cover. I mixed everything in a 12 quart bowl and covered it like a lazy bum with a bamboo cutting board. Let sit for two hours.

Meanwhile back at the ranch….

In a food processor:

Add pine nuts and pulse a few times. Then add basil leaves, garlic, and olive oil. Separate mozzarella into pieces. Refrigerate until just before you need it.

Sprinkle pizza peel generously with cornmeal. I’d stay away from Bob’s Red mill because there are HUGE chunks of cornmeal mixed in. Please note, whatever you spread on the peel will be ingested. I used Bob’s Red Mill and felt like I was going to crack a tooth.

Aaaand back to the dough:

When you return DON’T PUNCH DOWN THE DOUGH.

Cut off a large handful with a serrated knife.

Dust with a leetle flour (both the dough and the counter)

Roll out dough to desired thickness. Place the dough the peel and IMMEDIATELY add toppings. The longer the the dough sits on the peel the more it will adhere. You don’t want that.

Gently slide pizza onto stone and bake for 7-8 minutes. When the crust starts bubble and brown you’re in business. Remove pizza from oven with peel and let cool. Then eat and enjoy.

Place the rest of the dough in an airtight container and freezer or refrigerate. I put half in the freezer and the other half in the fridge. The longer it sits the better it tastes.

Let me know your thoughts and I’d love to see your pictures!

Enjoy. πŸ™‚

*I went out and bought a pizza peel and stone (and five dishcloths plus a toy for my dog) for a total of 24.99 TOTAL. What, What?! πŸ™‚


Have something to say?

