Aching

I left Rabat less than 24hrs ago and already my heart is aching. Not for people, but for a situation. An environment in which I was constantly forced to learn– quickly–is one I craved for years.  Yes, at times the speed of Arabic, French, and Darija were whelming.  Yet, I feel that if I were to travel alone I would not be as emotionally split I was.  It’s one thing to care for yourself while traveling in a foreign country where you don’t speak the language. It’s another more intense thing to do so while responsible for 13 students and 2 co instructors.  I couldn’t be the traveler I wanted to be because we stuck out so much.  But, that’s what I signed up for…this time.

I’m, as hard as it is :), simultaneously writing a cover letter and updating my resume to apply for a job teaching in Rabat. I don’t know when this would occur, but I would LOVE to move there with my dog and learn to speak Darija and French (the latter by default, not because I want to). I can see myself doing well.  I’d live in Rabat or Salé in a little apartment with Garvey and teach during the week. I would love to learn more about the theatre scene there as well.  I’m not interested in politics, and while dressing conservatively in the small village in which I spent my time was difficult.  That difficulty was mostly along the lines of having brought a limited wardrobe.  I was there to build a bridge, not to socialize.  The clothing I brought reflected that.  Granted, I also hated not being able to sit on the roof in shorts and a tank top. That was very difficult. Let me not glamorize that. , I could definitely see myself in the city though, especially if I was able to wear some of my cute jeans and tops.

This desire to return to Rabat feels solid.  It feels like the timing is right. I could still spend time with my grandfather in the States and relocate to Rabat in the near future. It feels right for now and that feels good.

Have something to say?

